FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
FAQ from Ohio for Concealed Carry web site: http://www.ohioccw.org/content/view/3979/101/
- You DO NOT need a Ohio CCW License to get a FLORIDA non-resident License.
- Florida require only that you have a Range Competency Certificate from a NRA certified Instructor stating you have shown Safe Gun Handling on the Range. There is no requirement for the amount of time this takes.
- Your Certification from the Ohio CCW Class will also be accepted if you have, or are taking the Ohio CCW Class.
- The Florida non-resident License is good in 32 states including Ohio plus. It is good in states that Ohio does NOT cover. see map on web site for current list
- The Florida Non-Resident License is good for 7 years.
- It takes about 1 hour Competency Testing.
- It follows you where ever you go.
- It is good in 32 states, some different that Ohio.
- It only requires a Range Competency Certificate which takes about 1 hour, covering Range Competency and briefing on the Laws of Ohio and Florida.
- We test you on Range Competency and then spend about hour going over the Ohio CCW Gun Laws. It is then your responsibility to check on the Laws from any other state in which you intent do carry your gun.
- Florida covers Alabama, Georgia, Pennsylvania and Texas, that Ohio does not cover..
- FYI....do keep in mind that there is legislation that is pending for early 2013 in Ohio that may change whether Non-resident Florida license will be accepted in Ohio. At that point, a Ohio CCW license might be required. Given the debates currently going on about gun bans, etc due to recent mass murders and gun violence, anything is possible regarding gun laws. Keep up to date by reading the proposed laws in Ohio.
- The OHIO License is good for 5 years.
- It takes 12 hours for Class.
- If you move from Ohio, your license becomes invalid immediately.
- It is good in 32 states.
- Ohio covers Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, and South Carolina that Florida does not cover.
Q: What States do my Ohio CCW Permit allow me to carry my gun?
For more detailed information click here
Q: Why should a wife or other family member take a class and get license along with you?
http://www.buckeyefirearms.org/node/5781/ [near bottom of article]
"For anyone who has both a CHL and a spouse, I highly recommend your spouse obtain their CHL even if they never plan to carry a gun. It is the cheapest form of insurance you will find for being charged with your loaded gun if you must leave your weapon with them in a vehicle."
- If you have a CCW Permit, the plain sight provision has been removed from law, therefore, a loaded gun can be carried in a holster in console or glovebox.
- If for any reason you exit vehicle without the gun and your wife is in vehicle, she could be charged for having access to a loaded gun.
- This could happen even if you stepped out of vehicle for a moment to talk to a law officer. She would then be at risk.
- Carrying a CCW Permit would offer her protection at all times from prosecution, even if she elects never to carry a gun herself.
- It is also a great idea to have members of family educated in gun operation and safety.
- Gun must be UNLOADED.
- Gun must be in the trunk of the car, or locked box, which is inaccessible without exiting vehicle.
- Ammunition and speed loaders must be locked in glove box, or locked box, at farthest point from the gun.
Complete transportation rules for Ohio are available at: http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/2923.16
Ohio Revised Code ORC 1.43: Singular – plural – gender - tense section (A) The singular includes the plural, and the plural includes the singular. This is the defining statement therefore, though ORC only states "handgun" is is also implied "handguns" may be carried.
The law defines a handgun as:
(1) Any firearm that has a short stock and is designed to be held and fired while being held in one by the use of a single hand;
(2) Any combination of parts from which a firearm of a type described in division (C)(1) of this section can be assembled.
FEDERAL GUN LAW S CONCERNING RESIDENTS AND NON-RESIDENTS OF EACH STATE:
NON-RESIDENTS: CAN NOT BUY, SELL OR TRADE FIREARMS TO PRIVATE INDIVIDUALS. YOU MAY SELL FIREARMS TO ANY FFL DEALER, REGARDLESS OF THEIR RESIDENCY. YOU MAY BUY LONG GUNS FROM A FFL DEALER WHO IS LICENSED IN THE SAME STATE, PROVIDED THE LAWS OF BOTH STATES ARE COMPLIED WITH.RESIDENTS: MAY SELL, BUY, TRADE FROM ANYONE WHO IS ALSO A RESIDENT. YOU CAN NOT BUY, SELL OR TRADE WITH ANYONE WHO IS NOT A RESIDENT. YOU MAY SELL FIREARMS TO ANY FFL LICENSE DEALER, REGARDLESS OF THEIR RESIDENCY.